dressing the adult ballet figure

dressing the adult ballet figure

If there’s one thing that’s been intimidating about starting ballet, it’s figuring out how to dress myself. I want to wear something form-fitting so I can see if I’m hitting the right positions and movements, but I need some support for those grown-up curves! Aside from the depressing discovery that, as a UK size 8-10, I’m firmly considered Large in any ballet wear… (Sad face!) The most frustrating thing for me has been finding a way to support my 34C bustline, which, in ballet, is considered enormous.

IMG_3591Plume Camisole Leotard in Navy, Bloch Warm-Up Shorts, Revolution Convertible Tights, Bloch Canvas Slippers.

Unlike gymnastics leotards, Ballet leotards tend to have very delicate designs with thin straps and sheer accents. The focus of the design is often at the back. To compensate for the fact that you can’t fit a sports bra under any of these designs, they come with either “full front lining” or a “bust panel”. The full front lining is just an extra layer of fabric on the front, and the bust panel is a little bit like the secret support you sometimes get in tank tops.

I very hopefully tried out the Plume leotard photographed above as it is a flattering cut with a bust panel, but, if I’m honest, I really needed more support. Honestly, to me, a bust panel feels less supportive than even those comfy lace bralets I wear slouching around the house! (Okay all of the time… Haha!)

A bit of internet research revealed that some girls were making their own bras out of pantyhose (!) and others were wearing two leotards at once! Most had simply given up on ever wearing pretty leotards and settling on the basic “tank” leotard shape, which can easily fit a sports bra that does not have a racer-back.

PrettyleosSome typical ballet leotards you can’t wear with a bra: Mandala Pseudo Tank Leotard by Capezio, Halter-neck leotard by Plume, Mesh Dynamic tank leotard by Plume.

Not willing to give up on my camisole leotard, I tried this Revolution foundation bra. And it was just… horrific. Uncomfortable. Wouldn’t stay in place. And, worst of all, somehow felt less supportive than going braless.

Oh dear.

Thankfully, after literally DAYS of internet searching and much help from LessBounce.Com, I eventually discovered this wireless sports bra by Berlei, which I ordered in my usual 34C. Although the straps are slightly too thick to fit neatly under the leotard straps, the back sits low enough to accommodate a medium-low back without the ugly racer-back look! Most importantly, it gives FANTASTIC support without any obtrusive extra padding, wiring or crazy front zip-up mechanics that seem to be popular with any bra over a B-cup. (Why!) I can’t vouch for D-cups and above, but for me, this bra is really really great. I have even been wearing it running!

I’m still not perfectly satisfied with the look – I still usually wear a sheer t-shirt on top tied at the waist, just to keep my bust a little more hidden. But I’m on the lookout for the perfect adult-friendly leotard! So I will definitely be blogging about any discoveries as I learn to dress myself in ballet style. If you any fellow adult dancers out there have any tips do let me know!

Ballet Rookie x

2 thoughts on “dressing the adult ballet figure

  1. I actually stocked up on leotards, wraps and tights for my ballet classes a few years back. Everyone was into it. Then I came back to a new class and everyone else was in gym gear. Soooooooo embarrassing. Hahaha! But, back to leotards: A black cotton leotard with a sheer little back wrap skirt tends to be the most slimming I’m a 10E and just went with a normal bra! I’ll look into what you found though 🙂 Anything else tizzy or colourful means everyone gets distracted by you. For me, that makes me self conscious as I’m usually the biggest in the class (size 10 Australian…wtf). Bloch doesn’t even seem to list theirs, but they’re really comfy. Plus I’ve seen some really cute butt length sweaters they’ve just put up.
    Maybe we should do ballet together across the world! I’m looking at a barre class. I’ll keep you posted
    xox
    Meg

    Like

    1. Oh I didn’t know!! Yesss ballet buddies!!!! ❤ Luckily most are wearing ballet wear in my class, but you're right, bright/printed/sparkly anything is never to be seen. So far from our usual comfort zone! Haha.
      I'm enjoying accessorising my bun with matching velvet ribbons, though.
      I haven't tried a wrap skirt yet. Will do! Xx

      Like

Leave a comment